VisWeek '12 Lunch with the Leaders

This is a one day event where beginning researchers have an opportunity to go for lunch with leaders of the visualization community. You pay for your own lunch, location is up to each group. Please sign up below with your name and affiliation.

To sign up, enter your Compass username and password (see your Visweek registration confirmation email), click on the Edit icon in the right corner, and add your name below.

Many thanks to the Visweek'12 committee members, who were kind enough to lead by example and be among the first to donate their lunch slot to this event. This sign-up sheet is not curated. Meeting points: 23 VAST, 24 InfoVis, 17 SciVis = 64 total.

Wednesday, Oct 17th 2012 @12:30pm, Lunch with the Mentors

Mentors are listed first, followed by the remaining three group-members.

Team 1 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #1, @ 12:30pm)
  • Hamish Carr (University of Leeds)
  • Arlind Nocaj (University of Konstanz)
  • Heidi Lam (Google)
  • Carmen Sigovan (UC Davis)

Team 2 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #2, @ 12:30pm)
  • Tobias Schreck (University of Konstanz)
  • Hua Guo (<Brown University)
  • Bastian Rieck (Heidelberg University)
  • Karsten Klein (Sydney University)

Team 3 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #3, @ 12:30pm)
  • Russell M. Taylor II (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
  • Lauren Bradel (Virginia Tech)
  • Peter Salz (University of Kaiserslautern)
  • Jonathan Fischer (Chemnitz University of Technology)
  • Keqin Wu (University of Maryland at Baltimore County)
  • Kalpathi Subramanian (UNC Charlotte)

Team 4 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #4, @ 12:30pm)
  • Amit Chourasia (San Diego Supercomputing Center, UCSD)
  • Abon Chaudhuri (The Ohio State University)
  • Timothy Luciani (Univ of Pittsburgh)

Team 5 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #5, @ 12:30pm)
  • Adam Perer (IBM Research)
  • Tom Oniki (Intermountain Healthcare)
  • Jishang Wei (VIDI UCDavis)
  • Kay Phamdo (Intel Corporation)
  • Wei Zhuo (Georgia Tech)
  • Sushma Venkatesh (Dow Chemical Co.)

Team 6 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #6, @ 12:30pm)
  • Ross Maciejewski (Arizona State University)
  • Qi Liao (Central Michigan University)
  • Fred Olislagers (University of Amsterdam)
  • Chad Stolper (Georgia Tech)

Team 7 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #7, @ 12:30pm)
  • Nathalie Riche (Microsoft Research)
  • Matt Brehmer (University of British Columbia)
  • Sean McKenna (University of Utah)
  • Connor Gramazio (Brown University)
  • Wei Luo (GeoVISTA Center)
  • Tera Marie Green (SIAT, Simon Fraser University)

Team 8 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #8, @ 12:30pm)
  • Dan Best (Pacific Northwest National Labs)
  • Karl Smeltzer (Oregon State University)
  • Fabian Fischer (University of Konstanz)
  • Pete Clark (Macaulay Brown)
  • Tuan Dang (University of Illinois at Chicago)

Team 9 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #9, @ 12:30pm)
  • Leland Wilkinson (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Bilal Alsallakh (Vienna University of Technology)
  • Lei Shi (Institute of Software, Chinese Academy of Sciences)
  • Luana Micallef (University of Kent)
  • Wenjin Zhou (Oakland University)

Team 10 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #10, @ 12:30pm)
  • Gerik Scheuermann (University of Leipzig)
  • Ayan Biswas (The Ohio State University)
  • Cheuk Yiu Ip (University of Maryland)
  • Rocco Gasteiger (University of Magdeburg)

Team 11 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #11, @ 12:30pm)
  • Bruce Campbell (Rhode Island School of Design)
  • Shaomeng Li (Tufts University)
  • Siming Chen (Peking University)
  • Kyungho Lee (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Team 12 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #12, @ 12:30pm)
  • Michael Freeman (University of Washington)
  • Scott Murray (University of San Francisco)
  • Rafael Veras (University of Ontario Institute of Technology)
  • Sam Quinan (University of Utah)

Team 14 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #14, @ 12:30pm)
  • Jason Dykes (City University London)
  • Pascal Goffin (ETH Zurich, D-ARCH)
  • Radu Jianu (Florida International University)
  • Alex Bigelow (University of Utah)
  • Bertjan Broeksema (University of Groningen)

Team 15 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #15, @ 12:30pm)
  • G. Elisabeta Marai (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Melissa Clarkson (University of Washington)
  • Kevin Griffin (University of California at Davis/Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
  • Adrienn Szabo (MTA SZTAKI)
  • Steven MacNeil (UNCC)

Team 16 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #16, @ 12:30pm)
  • Remco Chang (Tufts University)
  • Michelle Borkin (Harvard University)
  • Lon Riesberg (Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics)
  • Tuan Pham (Oregon State University)
  • Jibonananda Sanyal (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

Team 17 (meeting point Vis Poster S1, on Tensor Approximation Properties for Multiresolution and Multiscale Volume Visualization, @ 12:30pm)
  • Renato Pajarola (University of Zürich)
  • Mathias Goldau (University of Leipzig)
  • Joseph Cottam (Indiana University)
  • Alisa Bandlow (Sandia National Laboratories)
  • Femi Alabi (UNC-Chapel Hill)

Team 18 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #18, @ 12:30pm)
  • Roy Ruddle (University of Leeds, UK; interaction design)
  • Iain Dillingham (giCentre, City University London)
  • Jessica Dawson(University of British Columbia)
  • Michael Wybrow (Monash University)
  • Mischa Weiss-Lijn (RMA Consulting, London UK)

Team 19 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #19, @ 12:30pm)
  • Chris North (Virginia Tech)
  • John Wenskovitch (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Jian Zhao (University of Toronto)
  • Kenny Gruchalla (National Renewable Energy Laboratory)

Team 20 (meeting point InfoVis Poster #20, @ 12:30pm)
  • Miriah Meyer (University of Utah)
  • Steffen Oeltze (Otto-von-Guericke University of Magdeburg)
  • Hanwen Chang (Trend Micro)
  • Nafees Ahmed (Stony Brook University)
  • Vetria Byrd (Clemson University)

Team 21 (meeting point VAST Poster #1, @ 12:30pm)
  • Jonathan C. Roberts (Bangor University, UK)
  • Jens Fangerau (Heidelberg University)
  • Jaime Snyder (Syracuse University)
  • Mengdie Hu (Georgia Tech)

Team 22(meeting point VAST Poster #2, @12:30pm)
  • Brian Fisher (Simon Fraser University)
  • Margit Pohl (Vienna University of Technology)
  • Xin Tong (The Ohio State University)
  • Xiaotong Liu (The Ohio State University)

Team 23(meeting point InfoVis Poster #21, @12:30pm)
  • Christopher Collins (University of Ontario Institute of Technology)
  • Jaegul Choo (Georgia Tech)
  • Francis Williams (Bangor University, UK)
  • Thomas Marrinan (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Maxime Dumas (École de Technologie Supérieure - Montréal)
  • Sébastien Rufiange (École de Technologie Supérieure - Montréal)

Team 24(meeting point InfoVis Poster #22, @12:30pm)
  • Sheelagh Carpendale (University of Calgary)
  • Bei Wang (Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute, University of Utah)
  • Greg McInerny, University of Oxford, UK
  • Eduardo Graells (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)

Keep adding teams...

Page last modified on Wednesday, October 17, 2012